Modern Muslim Mommy (To Be)

Cloth Diapering, Parenting, & Randomness From an Eclectic Individual

My simple wash routine (did I mention I’m microfiber FREE???!!!)

on December 4, 2013

I doubt that many of you will be that interested, but for those of you starting out, I thought I would post my wash routine.  I will preface this by saying that I have a basic, top loading washer, hard water, and the water here in FL is very chlorinated too (I don’t know if that makes a difference, but I thought I’d mention it just in case).

I wash when my 13.5 gallon trash can is half full (usually every 3rd day).  We use Kanga Care (Rumparooz) pail liners that I got as seconds for $5 each!!!  The seam sealing has come off, but I don’t have any leaks and its in the trash can anyway if it does happen to leak.  The can came with a swing open lid that I keep swung open (if that makes any sense) in order to let more air circulate.

I rinse all my diapers (poo or pee) and wring them out, and then put them in the pail until it’s time to wash.  I think this minimizes stinkiness, especially with the overnight diapers.

On wash day I dump everything into the machine, it’s a medium load and I set it to a cold rinse, then stop the cycle and let them soak for 30 minutes.  Then I finish the cycle.  Then I run a hot cycle (cold rinse) with half a scoop of Country Save.  Sometimes I add a dash of Calgon, and once a month I will do a wash with one RLR packet (1.35 oz) and then an extra warm cycle (wash then cold rinse again).  That’s it!!!

I dry my prefolds and cloth wipes in the dryer for 30 min, hang everything else up (covers, bamboo inserts, itti bitti boos, bg elemental, bamboozles), then the prefolds and wipes are hung up too.  Everything except the fitteds & my one BGE is dry by around 10 a.m. the next morning, after hanging them to dry by around 10 p.m.  I have never tried sunning or bleaching (though I probably should try sunning just for the poo stains).  I have zero stink issues after 9 months.  If I’m lazy, everything except the covers can dry for 1.5 hours in the dryer and be ready for me to pluck from the dryer the next morning without the 10 minute “hassle” of hanging everything up (some nights I’m just tooooo tired, and they’re so much softer this way!!!).  I do try to minimize dry time because it puts unnecessary wear on the diapers, and our electric bill!

So, to recap/sum up:

1) Rinse ALL diapers

2) Dry pail with lid left open

3) Cold 30 minute soak

4) Hot wash with 1/2 scoop detergent

5) 30 minutes in the dryer (except for things with PUL or bamboo)

6) Hang PUL & bamboo items

7) Hang prefolds & wipes to finish drying by morning

That’s it, that’s my diaper care system.  Please feel free to ask questions or comment, all non-spam type things are welcome!

Leave a Reply

